Hartberg
A Town Looking Back on 2,000 Years of History
Hartberg - Blick über Stadt
Hartberg - Alter Gerichtshof Gastgarten
Hartberg - Kirchturm
Hartberg - Sehenswürdigkeit
Hartberg - Museum
Hartberg - Blick über Stadt
Hartberg - Alter Gerichtshof Gastgarten
Hartberg - Kirchturm
Hartberg - Sehenswürdigkeit
Hartberg - Museum

Hartberg

A Town Looking Back on 2,000 Years of History

How It All Began…

A journey through time: from the Celtic hilltop settlement on the Ringkogel Mountain to the first Styrian Cittàslow. The first settlers already arrived on the Ringkogel in primeval times. Over the ages the mountaintop has undergone many changes, but parts of the fortification of the Celtic ring wall which gave the mountain its name are still visible. The Romans settled at the foot of the Ringkogel and began cultivating wine.

Hartberg was founded in 1122 by Margrave Leopold I of Steyr as a palatine which he systematically developed and expanded. At that time and for many years after, Hartberg was much more important than Graz. Hartberg was a “Taiding”, that is a place where trials were held. In medieval times a myriad of wealthy gentry used to gather in Hartberg, the heart of Styria. In 1286, Hartberg was first mentioned in a document as a civitas (town).

Honour to whom honour is due! In 2009, Hartberg was admitted to the international Cittàslow Association of the most liveable towns – in recognition of the fact that the people of Hartberg go to great lengths to uphold their native cultural traditions.

Enjoy Hartberg with all your senses, relax and unwind – in Hartberg you have all the time in the world!

Hartberg
Eine Stadt mit 3000-jähriger Geschichte
Hartberg - Blick über Stadt
Hartberg - Alter Gerichtshof Gastgarten
Hartberg - Kirchturm
Hartberg - Sehenswürdigkeit
Hartberg - Museum
Slider

Hartberg

Eine Stadt mit 3000-jähriger Geschichte

Und so hat alles begonnen…  

Der Weg von der keltischen Höhensiedlung am Ringkogel bis zur ersten steirischen Città Slow Hartberg liegt am Ringkogel, der schon in urgeschichtlicher Zeit besiedelt war und immer wieder umgestaltet und bebaut wurde. Noch zu sehen sind Teile der Befestigungsanlage des  keltischen „Ringwalls“, der dem Ringkogel  seinen Namen gab. Die Römer siedelten sich am Fuße des Ringkogels an und  kultivierten Wein.

Hartberg wurde im Jahr 1122 vom Markgraf Leopold I. von Steyr als Pfalz gegründet und planmäßig ausgebaut und vergrößert. Zu dieser Zeit und noch für lange war Hartberg zum Beispiel weitaus bedeutender als Graz. Hartberg war ein Taiding, was einen Gerichtsort bezeichnet. Hier versammelte sich im Mittelalter der reiche, bunte Adel im Herzen der steirischen Mark. Im Jahr 1286 wird Hartberg erstmals civitas (Stadt) genannt.

Ehre wem Ehre gebührt!  2009 wurde Hartberg im Kreise der internationalen Città Slow-Vereinigung der lebenswertesten Städte aufgenommen. Begründet wird dies: Weil sich die Hartberginnen und Hartberger intensiv um die Pflege kultureller Besonderheiten bemühen.

Genießen Sie Hartberg mit allen Sinnen und gönnen Sie sich alle Zeit der Welt!