Already visible from far away, the St. Laurentiuskirche Church and the Gayenhofen Castle tower majestically above the old town of Bludenz and together form the landmark of the town. The church was first mentioned in a document in 842. It boasts a striking onion-domed spire and a beautiful high altar made of black marble. Two of its 5 bells are so valuable that they were not melted down in either world war. Since 1868, the Gayenhofen Castle has been home to the administration of Bludenz’s district authority. The listed building was formerly the seat of the Counts of Werdenberg who ruled over Bludenz. Both buildings are part of a guided walking tour.